Life Update: The Story Behind The Ring

Hello blog,

Don’t mind me as I wipe the dust off of you. I’m sorry I abandoned you, it wasn’t on purpose. I writing for an online publisher, and life got busy… so, the blog fell to the back burner. But now… I’m back!

So, update since we last spoke. You know, some stuff has changed… I stopped writing for The Odyssey Online, I started working at an ob/gyn, oh yeah… AND DID I MENTION I GOT ENGAGED? A bunch of people have been asking me for all the details revolving around my engagement, so I figured I would put it all in one post to reference to anyone in the future; and of course, to anyone who doesn’t know me but loves a good love story. So, strap in… let’s get into it.


Matt and I started dating the summer before we were about to be seniors in high school, about 3 weeks before the first day of school. Matt and I had our first date and he asked me to be his girlfriend on August 5th, 2014.

10525839_787516891271312_6213158238092555046_n

Matt and I on our first date.

Though, the first time we ever seriously mentioned engagement was back in December of 2016. I can remember it clearly; we were sitting at Chili’s having dinner together when we got on the topic. I jokingly asked him “when are you going to propose to me?” He kind of laughed it off but eventually said the magic year “in 2017,” he told me.

Y’all, when I say my heart stopped I mean time stood still. After he said that I told my best friend, I told my sister, I told my other friends; I was excited. I didn’t even know if he was being serious but I 100% took his word for it.

Now one thing I told Matt was whenever he decided to go buy the ring, he needed to bring my sister and possibly my mother or my best friend with him. And, he was completely on board with that. Though, in the end that didn’t end up happening. Matt and I went to dinner with his brother and sister-in-law and they were talking about how they had made a custom ring together. Well after that I was inspired by it, so Matt and I began discussing the idea of creating a custom ring.

So, the weekend before Valentine’s Day, we went to the mall and began looking at all of the jewelry shops there. I had found some rings I liked online, so we went to those stores to see if they were there and get ideas and see how they looked on my finger. Well, instead of a custom ring I found something else. One of the stores we went to was Kay’s, Matt and I were sitting when I showed the woman who was helping us a picture of a ring I found online that I loved. Well, lucky for me, she had a ring that looked exactly like it. I tried it on and immediately knew it was the one. Matt put a down payment on it that weekend.

So many people who knew I had picked out the ring with Matt told me it was a bad idea. They told me I had “ruined the point” or “ruined the moment.” They told me that “proposals are supposed to be a surprise” and “now it won’t be as special because I already knew what the ring looked like.” But honestly, I think this moment was so special to have. We created a memory together of deciding the ring that would show our eternal love. I think all couples should pick out the engagement ring together.

After Matt had the ring, I had no idea what was going on further. I didn’t know the day, the time, not even the season. But don’t be fooled, I tried to pry it out of that boy so many times. Part of me wanted to know because I’m just an incredibly inpatient person, but the other part of me didn’t want to know because proposals should always be surprises. The only people I knew the he told when he was going to do it was my mom and his mom.

So, then on we continued. For months of me annoying him to no end constantly asking “when are you going to do it?” over and over (I’m sure he got annoyed, thanks for putting up with me honey).

And then finally, there came September 6th, 2017.

My day started off pretty normally. I had a doctor’s appointment, I went shopping, and I went to work. That night, I knew I was going out to dinner with Matt, his family, and my family. As I got ready at home, I remember my mom asked me “are you really going to wear that?” when she noticed I wore ripped jeans a simple, grey sweater (hey, for the record, I dressed it up with a nice necklace, I thought I looked nice). I told her to relax, it was just a birthday dinner. She kept quiet, knowing if she pushed further I would probably get that something was up.

When we arrived at the restaurant, I still didn’t get any of the hints that anything was up. Despite the fact that Matt’s entire family was there, when I only thought it would him and his parents and how my sister showed up in the middle of dinner despite the fact that she was out of town that week.

And then… the big moment. After our meal at Matt and I’s favorite Chinese restaurant, the woman came by and placed a gigantic pile of fortune cookies in front of me. Again, I didn’t think much of it – I just assumed my space was cleared with no plates on it, so it was simple for her to just dump them all right there.

Next was the part where I started to get a little curious of what was going on. Matt’s mom said that we should all open a cookie and go down the line, but she aid we should start with me. That was what confused me, considering I was sitting in the middle of the table. If we were start in a line, shouldn’t we start at the end? Nonetheless, I went ahead and opened one and was met with a crazy fortune.

There is an engagement in your future,” it read. Immediately, I knew what was going on. Usually this restaurant put more inspirational quotes in fortune cookies, never real fortunes. Matt was then opening his fortune cookie and told me to read his fortune allowed…

Screen Shot 2017-09-21 at 7.58.04 PM.png

both of our fortunes together

The rest was just a big blur. Matt opened a third fortune cookie and there inside sat that perfect engagement ring we had picked out together back in February.

21317796_1553422224680771_6475749883655440749_n

My perfect engagement ring

It was perfect. He is perfect. I couldn’t ask for a better ring, a better proposal, or a better fiancee. The future is looking very bright my friends.

 

Here are some more pics!

 

 

xoxo, charlsley

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑